Rio Norte Junior High

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Rio Norte Electives

Year-long Electives 

PROGRAM TEACHER INFORMATION
LINK TO APPLY/
AUDITION
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

ACHIEVE

 

Achieve

Ms. Dawson

 

 

kdawson@hartdistrict.org

 

 

Web Site

An Achieve peer tutor can be any 8th grader with great math and science skills who would love to help other Rio Norte students understand their classes better. 

 

Link to apply

Deadline June 4,2020

Achieve is a year-long class for students who are English Learners. The class focuses on speaking, listening, reading and writing in English. The class also offers support in all other subjects. The goal of the class is to help qualify the EL students for reclassification. Achieve is for 7th and 8th grade EL students.

ADVANCED ART

 

Advanced Art

 

 

Mr. Bibicoff

 

 dbibicoff@hartdistrict.org

 

Web Site

TBA

Advanced Art is for students that have a foundation of life drawings skills. Additional drawings may be required for acceptance.

ASB

 

 

ASB

Mr. Sheridan

 

msheridan@hartdistrict.org

 

Web Site

Application Information

 

Deadline

April 12, 2020

 
Incoming 7th grade applications are open.  Incoming 8th grade applications are open.  Please visit the ASB website for further information.
 
 

CONCERT BAND

 

Concert Band

 

Mr. Gilbert

 

jcgilbert@hartdistrict.org

 

Web Site

TBA

Starts at 3:15 PM in G-4
Wind and Brass students should be prepared to play the B-flat concert scale, and a short piece to show off with. Percussion students should be prepared to play the B-flat scale on mallets as well as a press roll, paradiddles, and flam. ( with both hands)

CONCERT CHOIR

 

Concert Band

 

Mr. Gilbert

 

jcgilbert@hartdistrict.org

 

Web Site

TBA

2:15-6:00 PM in the MPR. Students should be prepared to sing a short solo showcasing their vocal style. (not their favorite pop stars) They should be prepared to sing exercises with a piano.

DRAMA PRODUCTION

 

 

Ms. Hubbell

 

 

ahubbell@hartdistrict.org

 

TBA

 

RIO TV

 

Rio TV

Mr. Ippolito

 

 

rippolito@hartdistrict.org

 

 

Web Site

TBA

 

 

SPANISH A/B

 

Spanish

Ms. Grandbois

 

kgrandbois@hartdistrict.org

 

Web Site

8th graders only

  • Minimum 3.5 GPA
  • B's and A's in 7th grade English.  

YEARBOOK

 

Ms. Bretthauer

 

jbretthauer@hartdistrict.org

 

Web Site

TBA

 

 

Semester- long Electives 

PROGRAM

TEACHER INFORMATION

 

BEGINNING ART AND ANIMATION
 
Mr. Bibicoff
 
 
Art
BEGINNING BAND
 
Mr. Gilbert
band
BEGINNING CHOIR
 
Mr. Gilbert
Choir
BEGINNING DRAMA
 
Ms. Hubbell
 
 
Drama
BEGINNING GUITAR
 
Mr. Gilbert
 
Guitar
BEGINNING VIDEO PRODUCTION
 
Ms. Ng video production
CODING Ms. Petrovich Coding
DIGITAL ART Mr. Bibicoff ART AND ANIMATION
DIGITAL PHOTOGRAPHY Mr. Bibicoff Photography
EXPLORING CULINARY 1 and 2
 
Ms. Moore Cooking
HEALTH, WELLNESS & RECREATION   Health, Wellness, and Recreation
JUNIOR HIGH SEMINAR TBA Seminar
TECHNOLOGY: DESIGN &
MODELING
 
Ms. Petrovich
TEEN LEADERSHIP
Mr. Sherdian
Teen Leadership

 

Selection Information

TBA for the 2020-21 school year. Check back in the Spring.